Maine--Laws Relating to Pregnancy

Maine--Laws Relating to Pregnancy

MAINE

  [Return to Interactive Map]

Prohibitions against Pregnancy Discrimination

It is an unlawful employment practice to discriminate based on sex.Sex discrimination includes discrimination based on pregnancy, childbirth, and related conditions.[1]

For the text of the statute, click here.

Pregnancy Accommodation

While not explicitly requiring an affirmative duty to accommodate, the law does provide that it is unlawful employment discrimination for an employer to treat a pregnant woman who is able to work in a different manner from other persons who are able to work.

For the text of the statute, click here.

Pregnancy-related Disability Accommodation

It is unlawful employmentdiscrimination for an employer to treat a pregnant woman who is not able to work because of a disability or illness resulting from pregnancy or related medical conditions in a different manner from other employees who are not able to work because of other disabilities or illnesses.

For the text of the statute, click here.

Breastfeeding Rights

Every employer shall provide a reasonable amount of unpaid break time or allow her to use existing paid break time to accommodate an employee desiring to express breast milk for her nursing child for up to 3 years following childbirth. The employer must make reasonable efforts to provide a room, other than a bathroom, for an employee to express breast milk in private. An employer may not discriminate against an employee who chooses to express breast milk in the workplace.[2]

For the text of the statute, click here.

Family and Childcare Leave Laws

All Employers – Pregnancy-related Sick Leave

An employer is not required to provide sick leave, a leave of absence, medical benefits or other benefits to a woman because of pregnancy or related medical, if it does not also provide these benefits for other employees.[3]

For the text of the statute, click here.

Employers with 15 or more Employees, all State Employers- Family Medical Leave

Every employee is entitled to up to 10 paid or unpaid or combination work weeks of family medical leave in any 2 years. The employee must give at least 30 days' notice of the intended date, unless prevented by medical emergency.

For the text of the statute, click here.

Public and Private Employers with 25 or more Employees - Family Leave Compensation

Paid leave means time away from work for which the employee receives compensation, and is limited to sick time, vacation, compensatory time and aggregated leave for discretionary use. Paid leave does not include paid short-term or long-term disability, catastrophic leave or similar types of benefits.

If an employer provides paid leave, then the employer shall allow an employee to use it for the care of an immediate family member, including a child, who is ill.[4]

For the text of the statute, click here.

For the federal Pregnancy Discrimination Act, click here.

For the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, click here.

For further information on your pregnancy rights, contact Legal Momentum.

Copyright 2013 Legal Momentum



[1] Me. Rev. Stat. tit.5, § 4572

[2] Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 26, § 604

[3] Me. Rev. Stat. tit.5, § 4572

[4] Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 26, § 636

Contact Us

HEADQUARTERS

16 East 34th Street, 6th Floor

New York, NY 10016

(212) 925-6635

HelpLine: 212-925-6635 ext. 650

NOTE: We do not take walk-in requests for assistance.
You must make an appointment in advance.

E-MAIL

Media Inquiries: pressinfo@legalmomentum.org

Request Help: peo@legalmomentum.org

Donations and Events: friends@legalmomentum.org

Website Issues/Other Inquiries: info@legalmomentum.org

Sign up for news & action alerts.